• Marquette Bank Continues Tradition and Awards Scholarships to 53 Local High School Graduates 

    Neighborhood bank celebrates 46th Annual Scholarship Program 


    Orland Park, IL (June 5, 2012) – Marquette Bank, a neighborhood bank, continued a 46-year tradition by awarding $2,500 scholarships to 53 graduating seniors from neighborhood high schools in Chicago and the southwest suburbs. A total of $132,500 was awarded to local students.

    Funded by the Marquette Bank Education Foundation (MBEF), scholarships were awarded to students recommended by guidance counselors and principals and selected based on financial need, scholastic achievement and a record of volunteer service in their respective communities.
    “As a neighborhood bank it is important to invest in the education of local students,” said George Moncada, President and CEO of Marquette Bank. “This year’s scholarship recipients have shown a commitment to their community through volunteerism and service and the bank is honored to provide them with a scholarship to help further their education,” Moncada said.

    Since 1967, nearly $2.5 million in scholarships has been awarded to more than 1,300 high school students from Chicagoland neighborhoods. The scholarship can be used for any post-secondary education program, including: four-year universities, community colleges and vocational training schools.

    Listed below are the 2012 Marquette Bank Education Foundation Scholarship Recipients (information includes student name, high school, institution student is planning to attend and is categorized by high school location):


    Blue Island 

    • Felix Ponce of Blue Island, Dwight D. Eisenhower High School; St Xavier University


    • Ariel Smith of Bolingbrook, Bolingbrook High School, University of Miami


    • Monisa Ahmed of Bridgeview, Universal School; DePaul University


    • Elizabeth Zborek of Chicago, Reavis High School; Northwestern University
    • John Hoffman of Chicago, St. Laurence High School; Concordia University - Chicago 
    • Eileen Gajewski of Justice, Queen of Peace High School; Moraine Valley Community College


    • Zachary Rutz of Blue Island, Marist High School; Marquette University 
    • Vasyl Ilchyshyn of Chicago, Saint Ignatius College Prep; Loyola University 
    • Michael Hogan of Chicago, Mount Carmel High School; University of Notre Dame 
    • Guadalupe Urbing of Chicago, Benito Juarez Community Academy; Northeastern University 
    • Breann Stallworth of Chicago, Bogan College Prep High School; Lane College 
    • Christian Kaczmarczyk of Oak Lawn, Brother Rice High School; University of Wisconsin - Madison 
    • Ivonne Duran of Berwyn, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School; Xavier University 
    • Juana Villalpando of Chicago, Curie Metropolitan High School; Illinois Institute of Technology 
    • Nickolas Pulido of Chicago, De La Salle Institute; University of Iowa 
    • Yadira Escobar of Chicago, Farragut Career Academy; Harold Washington College 
    • June Nunez of Chicago, Gage Park High School; Whittier College 
    • Maria Hidalgo of Chicago, Hancock High School; Harold Washington College 
    • Wakeelah Ollie of Chicago, Harper High School; Xavier University - Louisiana 
    • Lizbeth Guerrero of Chicago, Hubbard High School; University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign 
    • Pablo Alvarez of Chicago, Kelly High School; Harold Washington College 
    • Shyann Latimore of Chicago, Kennedy High School; University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign 
    • James Beamon of Chicago, Leo Catholic High School; Ferris State University 
    • Abigail Castro of Chicago, Lindblom Math & Science Acad. H.S.; Cornell College 
    • Jessica Gonzalez of Chicago, Little Village Lawndale High School; University of Illinois – Chicago 
    • LaNaisa Lee of Chicago, Maria High School; Illinois State University 
    • Joshua Housing of Chicago, Morgan Park High School; University of Iowa 
    • Eileen O’Donnell of Chicago, Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School; University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign 
    • Michelle Tolbert of Chicago, New Luther High School; Kishwaukee College 
    • Dulce Reyes of Chicago, Our Lady of Tepeyac High School; Hope College 
    • Clayton Dora of Chicago, Paul Robeson High School; Grambling State University
    • Quintin Johnson of Chicago, Simeon Career Academy; DePaul University 
    • Precious McClain of Chicago, Southwest Youth Collaborative, University of St. Francis 
    • Albert Alfano of Chicago, St. Rita of Cascia High School; University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign 
    • Barbara Rajski of Palos Hills, Stagg High School; Saint Louis University 
    • Darek Thedford of Chicago, Hales Franciscan High School; DePaul University
    • Denzel Winfield of Chicago, Urban Prep – Englewood Campus; University of Miami

    Evergreen Park  

    • Amanda Williamson of Evergreen Park, Evergreen Park High School; Lewis University


    • Andrea Pehr of Lemont, Lemont Township High School; Purdue


    • Michelle Caballero of Naperville, Neuqua Valley High School; Miami University - Ohio

    New Lenox  

    • Erin Martin of Orland Park, Providence Catholic High School; St. Louis University 
    • Somer Druszkowski of Manhattan, Lincoln-Way Central High School; Augustana College

    Oak Forest  

    • Victoria Kennedy of Oak Forest, Oak Forest High School; Marquette University

    Oak Lawn  

    • Magdalena Hornik of Oak Lawn, Richards High School; Loyola University
    • Amanda Sewis of Oak Lawn, Oak Lawn Community High School; Loyola University

    Orland Park 

    • Marianthi Hatzis of Palos Park, Carl Sandburg High School; Indiana University

    Palos Heights 

    • Tiva Amariel of Calumet City, Shepard High School; Southern Illinois University 
    • Jeffrey Kamp of Tinley Park, Chicago Christian High School; Calvin College

    River Forest  

    • Yazmeen Ramirez of Chicago, Trinity High School; Benedictine University


    • Brenda Ramirez of Romeoville, Romeoville High School; Purdue University


    • Josue Morales of Bridgeview, Argo Community High School; Illinois State University

    Tinley Park  

    • Alexandra Davidson of Tinley Park, Andrew High School; Loyola University Chicago 
    • Kaitlyn Lannan of Tinley Park, Tinley Park High School; Northwestern University

    The Marquette Bank Education Foundation Scholarship Program is part of the Marquette Neighborhood Commitment, where each quarter the Bank focuses on a different area of need, including: shelter, hunger, education and health/wellness. For more information on the Marquette Bank Education Foundation Scholarship Program, call 1-888-254-9500 or visit: www.emarquettebank.com/about_scholarship.aspx.


    About Marquette Bank:    

    Marquette National Corporation is a $1.7 billion diversified financial holding company for Marquette Bank.  Marquette Bank has been a locally-operated bank providing personalized banking service since 1945.  Marquette Bank is a full-service, customer-focused neighborhood bank that serves the financial needs of Chicagoland communities, offering an extensive line of financial products including retail banking, mortgages, trust and business banking, free Online Bill Pay and free Automated Telephone Banking.  Marquette Bank’s retail branches are located in Chicago, Aurora, Bolingbrook, Bridgeview, Evergreen Park, Hickory Hills, Lemont, New Lenox, Oak Lawn, Oak Forest, Orland Park, Romeoville and Summit, Illinois.  Marquette Bank customers have convenient free access to over 43,000 Allpoint and Starsf ATMs worldwide.   

    Marquette Bank is an Equal Opportunity Lender, Equal Housing Lender and Member FDIC. Follow Marquette Bank on Twitter or like the Bank on Facebook for special offers and news.For more information visit: http://www.emarquettebank.com  or call 1-888-254-9500.